Shakes

Two days in a row with no birding .. getting the shakes! I have control over my birding hobby, it does not control me… OR… my name is Donna and I am a birdaholic!

DH and I went to Kingston today to deliver a ‘new to them’ washer and dryer to Kyle and Crista. I made an amazing discovery this summer. I, who used to get car sick doing anything but staring straight ahead, can knit in the car!! I should be able to knit sweaters for the whole family on the drive to Texas this winter!!  Mind you, I think I will still be doing some ‘navigating’ (some rudely call it ‘backseat driving’.. but technically I am in the navigator’s seat!), especially if we end up going through New York again this year!!

001

Working on an infinity scarf.

015

Quinn helping Papa with the installation.

022

Can you tell their last washer was top loading? 🙂

004

Mama/Son love!  Quinn and mama Crista

I LOVE ‘The Valley’ scenery, even on a drizzly, dreary day like today.

048 046 043

I even have DH saying, “That would make a nice shot” and offering to pull over for me to get photos!

No late summer/fall trip to the Valley is complete without picking up some squash! Today we got some Sweet Dumpling squash and roasted them in the oven along with other veggies and added a bean/oat burger and voila.. supper!

Recipe for burgers ( I posted before but you forgot to copy it and wished I would post again so here it is): Holy Cow! Vegan Recipes | Indian Vegan Recipes | Gluten-Free | Eggless Baking

I used tomato paste instead of ketchup and halved the cumin and dijon … best ‘fake’ burgers I have had yet (very tasty.. I swear)and they freeze well.

050

Oh.. btw, that theory that the QiGong helps me sleep through the night was shot to ‘heck’ (my 7 yr. old granddaughter reads this!) last night. Turns out it helped me ONE night! Had my usual 3ish  wake up.. made myself stay off my iPod (seems birding isn’t my only addiction…. hmmm) and read instead for an hour and back to sleep for another 1 1/2 hrs.. I’ll take it! Going on the theory that it takes more than two nights to prove or disprove any sleep theory, I’ll give it another zen-like attempt tonight. Serenity now.. NOW ‘darn’ it.!

Pura Vida

Leave a comment